- Also known as
- Elamipretide · Bendavia · MTP-131 · SS31 · Szeto-Schiller peptide 31
- Class
- Mitochondria-targeting tetrapeptide (cardiolipin binder)
- Form
- Lyophilised powder in 10 mg vials
- Sizes
- 10 mg
- Storage, dry
- −20 °C, dry and dark
- Storage, mixed
- 2–8 °C, use within 28 days of mixing (as generally reported for reconstituted peptides)
- BAC water per size
- 10 mg: 2 mL
- Molecular weight
- 639.8 g/mol (C32H49N9O5)
What is SS-31?
Chemically, SS-31 is classed as mitochondria-targeting tetrapeptide (cardiolipin binder). Its molecular weight is 639.8 g/mol (C32H49N9O5). The name covers the same material written several ways in the literature, including Elamipretide, Bendavia and MTP-131. Its sequence is recorded as D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2, where Dmt is 2′,6′-dimethyltyrosine. Published work on it is in human and mouse. 3 of the 7 studies listed below are controlled trials in people. It appears in the literature as Elamipretide, Bendavia and MTP-131. Supplied as lyophilised powder in 10 mg vials, held in Canadian stock, for laboratory research. It is not a drug, and it is not supplied for use in a person or an animal.
What the research shows
| Study | Model | Dose used | Duration | Finding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Karaa A et al.2023 · Neurology · PMID 37268435 | Human, phase 3 randomised double-blind placebo-controlled trial, primary mitochondrial myopathy (n=218) | 40 mg/day subcutaneous | 24 weeks | The trial did not meet its primary endpoints: the difference from placebo was -3.2 m on the 6-minute walk test (p = 0.69) and -0.07 on total fatigue (p = 0.37). Elamipretide was well tolerated, with most adverse events mild to moderate. |
| Karaa A et al.2024 · Orphanet J Rare Dis · PMID 39574155 | Human, post hoc analysis of the MMPOWER-3 randomised trial by genotype | Not stated in the abstract (MMPOWER-3 treatment arms) | 24 weeks | Patients with mtDNA replisome variants improved 25.2 m on the 6-minute walk test versus 2.0 m on placebo (p = 0.06). Within that group, those with CPEO improved 37.3 m versus -8.0 m (p = 0.0024). |
| Thompson WR et al.2024 · Genet Med · PMID 38602181 | Human, open-label extension of the TAZPOWER randomised trial, Barth syndrome (n=10 entered, 8 reached week 168) | 40 mg subcutaneous daily | 168-week open-label extension after a 28-week randomised phase | The 6-minute walk test improved at every time point, by a cumulative 96.1 m at week 168 (P = .003), and fatigue scores stayed below baseline. Injection-site reactions were the most common adverse events. |
| Hornby B et al.2022 · Orphanet J Rare Dis · PMID 36056411 | Human, retrospective natural history comparison, Barth syndrome (8 treated patients vs 19 untreated controls) | 40 mg daily | Compared at weeks 64 and 76 | The 6-minute walk test favoured elamipretide by 79.7 m at week 64 and 91.0 m at week 76, with gains in handheld muscle strength. Left ventricular stroke volume rose in treated patients and fell in the untreated controls. |
| Vieira Neto E et al.2026 · J Inherit Metab Dis · PMID 41500837 | Mouse, βTFP-deficient (mitochondrial trifunctional protein deficiency); patient-derived fibroblasts | Delivered by osmotic minipump; amount not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Treated βTFP-deficient mice showed better exercise endurance but no change in cold tolerance, and liver mitochondria had improved FAO-ETC enzyme activity. Cardiolipin content and composition did not change. |
| Xie M et al.2026 · Lung · PMID 41801306 | Mouse, ozone-induced airway injury (C57BL/6J); BEAS-2B airway cells | Intraperitoneal, 1 h before ozone exposure; amount not stated in the abstract | Single ozone exposure | SS-31 and N-acetylcysteine comparably reduced airway hyperresponsiveness, inflammatory cell influx and mucus hypersecretion. Both lowered ROS and malondialdehyde and improved SOD activity and GSH/GSSG. |
| Tse BC et al.2020 · Exp Eye Res · PMID 32758490 | Mouse, sonication-induced traumatic optic neuropathy | Intravitreal and/or subcutaneous MTP-131; amount not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Subcutaneous MTP-131 alone raised retinal ganglion cell survival by 17% over controls (p < 0.01). Combining it with etanercept gave no synergistic effect. |
What these studies don't show: The controlled evidence is real but covers a specific setting. Participants are screened, many endpoints are proxies, and most trials end early. Nothing here speaks to use outside the trial protocol. Knowing the vial holds what the label says is not the same as knowing the compound does anything.
Every study links to its PubMed record. See all SS-31 studies in the research library →
SS-31 price in Canada: 10mg vial
Buy SS-31 in Canada in a 10mg vial and a starter kit. Prices are in Canadian dollars, you pay by Interac e-Transfer or bank transfer, and orders are shipped from Canadian stock.
| Size | Price | Per mg |
|---|---|---|
| 10 mg | $70.50 | $7.05/mg |
Starter kit
Is SS-31 available in Canada?
SS-31 has no Drug Identification Number, which is how Health Canada marks a drug it has authorized. It has had no safety, efficacy or quality review from Health Canada. It is stocked here as laboratory research material and for no use in a person or an animal. How Health Canada treats research peptides →
Side effects reported in studies
The studies cited below report what they observed on tolerability, and those statements are reproduced as written. Human work of this size does not establish a safety profile.
SS-31 FAQ
What is SS-31?
The literature describes SS-31 as mitochondria-targeting tetrapeptide (cardiolipin binder). The published work on it is in human and mouse. Borealis Peptides supplies it as lyophilised powder in 10 mg vials for in-vitro laboratory research. It is not a drug, and it is not supplied for use in a person or an animal. Below, every cited paper is shown with the system it used and what it found.
Where can I buy SS-31 in Canada?
It ships within Canada from stock we hold, in 10 mg vials. Nothing leaves without HPLC confirmation of identity and purity for that batch. Borealis Peptides accepts research orders only, and ships to research and business addresses. Each batch carries its own HPLC analysis, tied to the number printed on the vial.
Is SS-31 legal in Canada?
SS-31 has no Drug Identification Number, which is how Health Canada marks a drug it has authorized. It has had no safety, efficacy or quality review from Health Canada. It is stocked here as laboratory research material and for no use in a person or an animal. Health Canada has said that "Research Use Only" labelling does not make a product legal to use in a person, so we treat it as a description of what the material is supplied for rather than a permission.
How much SS-31 should I use?
We do not answer dosing questions. SS-31 is not supplied for use in a person or an animal, so there is no dose to describe. What this page carries is the amount each cited study used and the model it used it in, reproduced as the authors published it.
What human evidence is there for SS-31?
Of the 7 studies cited, 3 are controlled trials in people and the rest are animal or cell work. Each row names its model, the amount used and what the authors reported, so the weight of each study can be judged directly rather than through a summary.
How long does SS-31 keep?
Hold sealed vials at −20 °C, dry and dark. In solution it is kept at 2–8 °C. It travels at room temperature as a dry powder and goes cold on arrival. Keeping it dark and at a steady temperature matters more than how fast it arrived.
How is the purity of SS-31 confirmed?
Every batch is tested by HPLC before it is sold, and the certificate refers to the batch in your vial rather than to the product in general. Keeping that batch number with your records is what makes an observation reproducible later. Certificates are available on request.
How does SS-31 compare with MOTS-C and NAD+?
They are not interchangeable, and this page makes no claim that one is preferable. MOTS-C and NAD+ have 7 cited studies and 8 cited studies on their page against 7 here. Set the two evidence tables side by side and the difference is visible directly.
Why is SS-31 named in a Health Canada advisory?
Because it was among the peptides seized from sellers offering unauthorized injectable products online. The advisory concerns material sold for people to inject without authorization. Borealis Peptides supplies research material for laboratory use and sells nothing for injection or for any use in a person, which is the line that advisory draws.







