- Also known as
- NAD · Nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide · β-NAD+
- Class
- Redox coenzyme (dinucleotide), not a peptide
- Form
- Lyophilised powder in 500 mg and 1000 mg vials
- Sizes
- 500 mg · 1 g
- Storage, dry
- −20 °C, dry and dark
- Storage, mixed
- 2–8 °C once in solution, use within 28 days (as generally reported for reconstituted research materials)
- BAC water per size
- 500 mg: 10 mL · 1000 mg: 10 mL
- Molecular weight
- 663.4 g/mol (NAD+, C21H27N7O14P2)
What is NAD+?
NAD+ is a redox coenzyme (dinucleotide), not a peptide. Its molecular weight is 663.4 g/mol (NAD+, C21H27N7O14P2). The name covers the same material written several ways in the literature, including NAD, Nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide and β-NAD+. Its sequence is recorded as Not a peptide; two nucleotides (nicotinamide and adenine) joined by a pyrophosphate bridge. Published work on it is in human. 8 of the 8 studies listed below are controlled trials in people. Borealis Peptides supplies it as lyophilised powder in 500 mg and 1000 mg vials for in-vitro laboratory research. It is not a medicine and is not for use in humans or animals.
What the research shows
| Study | Model | Dose used | Duration | Finding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christen S et al.2026 · Nat Metab · PMID 41540253 | Human, randomised open-label placebo-controlled study (n=65, healthy adults); molecules: oral NR, NMN and nicotinamide | Not stated in the abstract | 14 days | NR and NMN, but not nicotinamide, comparably raised circulating NAD+. Ex vivo work suggested NR and NMN are converted by gut microbes to nicotinic acid, which then raises NAD+. |
| Pencina KM et al.2023 · J Clin Endocrinol Metab · PMID 36740954 | Human, randomised controlled trial (n=30, overweight or obese adults aged 45+); molecule: oral NMN (MIB-626 tablets) | Two 500 mg NMN tablets twice daily | 28 days | NMN substantially raised circulating NAD+ and its metabolites. Body weight (−1.9 kg), diastolic blood pressure, total and LDL cholesterol fell more than with placebo; muscle strength, aerobic capacity, insulin sensitivity and liver fat did not differ. |
| Brakedal B et al.2022 · Cell Metab · PMID 35235774 | Human, randomised double-blind phase I trial (n=30, newly diagnosed Parkinson's disease); molecule: oral NR | 1,000 mg NR | 30 days | NR was well tolerated and gave a significant but variable rise in brain NAD measured by 31P-MRS, altered cerebral metabolism on FDG-PET in those whose brain NAD rose, and lowered inflammatory cytokines in serum and cerebrospinal fluid. |
| Elhassan YS et al.2019 · Cell Rep · PMID 31412242 | Human, randomised double-blind crossover trial (n=12, aged men); molecule: oral NR | 1 g NR per day | 21 days | NR raised the skeletal muscle NAD+ metabolome and lowered circulating inflammatory cytokines, without altering mitochondrial bioenergetics. |
| Vreones M et al.2023 · Aging Cell · PMID 36515353 | Human, randomised placebo-controlled crossover trial (n=22, healthy older adults); molecule: oral NR | 500 mg NR twice a day | 6 weeks | NR increased NAD+ in plasma extracellular vesicles enriched for neuronal origin and lowered their levels of Aβ42, pJNK and pERK1/2. |
| Katayoshi T et al.2023 · Sci Rep · PMID 36797393 | Human, randomised double-blind placebo-controlled trial (n=36, healthy middle-aged adults); molecule: oral NMN | 125 mg NMN capsule twice a day (250 mg/day) | 12 weeks | Serum nicotinamide rose in the NMN group. Pulse wave velocity tended to fall but did not differ significantly from placebo; no adverse events were reported. |
| Martens CR et al.2018 · Nat Commun · PMID 29599478 | Human, randomised double-blind placebo-controlled crossover trial (healthy middle-aged and older adults; n not stated in the abstract); molecule: oral NR | Not stated in the abstract | 2 × 6 weeks | Chronic NR was well tolerated and stimulated NAD+ metabolism; the authors suggest blood pressure and arterial stiffness as outcomes for future trials. |
| Castro-Marrero J et al.2021 · Nutrients · PMID 34444817 | Human, randomised double-blind placebo-controlled trial (n=207, ME/CFS); molecule: oral NADH combined with CoQ10 | 20 mg NADH plus 200 mg CoQ10 once daily | 12 weeks | Within the treatment group, cognitive fatigue and overall FIS-40 score fell and quality of life improved from baseline; the effect of NADH cannot be separated from that of CoQ10. |
What these studies don't show: The controlled evidence is real but covers a specific setting. Who was enrolled, what was measured and for how long all constrain what the results mean. Nothing here speaks to use outside the trial protocol. Testing establishes identity and purity; it is not evidence of an effect.
Every study links to its PubMed record. See all NAD+ studies in the research library →
NAD+ price in Canada: 500mg and 1g vials
Buy NAD+ in Canada in 2 vial sizes and a starter kit. Prices are in Canadian dollars, you pay by Interac e-Transfer or bank transfer, and orders are shipped from Canadian stock.
| Size | Price | Per mg |
|---|---|---|
| 500 mg | $46.50 | $0.09/mg |
| 1 g | $76.00 | $0.08/mg |
Starter kit
Is NAD+ available in Canada?
NAD+ does not appear in the Drug Product Database as an authorized product. Nothing about its safety, efficacy or quality has been reviewed by a regulator here. Borealis Peptides holds it for in-vitro research; it is not supplied for use in any living subject. How Health Canada treats research peptides →
Side effects reported in studies
Each statement is tied to the study that reported it. Tolerability observations from the cited papers appear below in the authors own terms. Human work of this size does not establish a safety profile. Read more →
Doses used in studies
NAD+ FAQ
What is NAD+?
Suppliers and the literature both list NAD+ as a redox coenzyme (dinucleotide), not a peptide. The published work on it is in human. Borealis Peptides supplies it as lyophilised powder in 500 mg and 1000 mg vials for in-vitro laboratory research. Nothing here is a medicine; it is not for human or veterinary use. The table on this page gives each study, its model and its reported result.
Where can I buy NAD+ in Canada?
Direct from Borealis Peptides, held in Canadian stock so nothing crosses a border on its way to you. Stocked in 500 mg and 1000 mg vials. Purity is confirmed by HPLC batch by batch, and we supply for laboratory research only.
Is NAD+ legal in Canada?
NAD+ does not appear in the Drug Product Database as an authorized product. Nothing about its safety, efficacy or quality has been reviewed by a regulator here. Borealis Peptides holds it for in-vitro research; it is not supplied for use in any living subject. Health Canada has said that "Research Use Only" labelling does not make a product legal to use in a person, so we treat it as a description of what the material is supplied for rather than a permission.
How much NAD+ should I use?
We do not answer dosing questions. NAD+ is not supplied for use in a person or an animal, so there is no dose to describe. What this page carries is the amount each cited study used and the model it used it in, reproduced as the authors published it.
What human evidence is there for NAD+?
Of the 8 studies cited, 8 are controlled trials in people and the rest are animal or cell work. Each row names its model, the amount used and what the authors reported, so the weight of each study can be judged directly rather than through a summary.
How is NAD+ stored?
The dry powder sits at −20 °C, shielded from light. Once reconstituted, 2–8 °C once in solution. Because the dry form is stable at room temperature, shipping needs no cold chain; refrigerate it when it arrives. What degrades a lyophilised peptide is light and temperature cycling rather than transit time.
How is the purity of NAD+ confirmed?
Every batch is tested by HPLC before it is sold, and the certificate refers to the batch in your vial rather than to the product in general. Keeping that batch number with your records is what makes an observation reproducible later. Certificates are available on request.
How does NAD+ compare with MOTS-C and SS-31?
They are different compounds with different published records, and this site does not rank them. MOTS-C and SS-31 have 7 cited studies and 7 cited studies on their page against 8 here. The useful comparison is between the two study tables and the models behind them.







