- Also known as
- ACTH(4-7)PGP · ACTH(4-10) analogue · Semax peptide · Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro
- Class
- Synthetic ACTH(4-10) analogue (heptapeptide)
- Form
- Lyophilised powder in 10 mg vials and a ready-mixed nasal spray
- Sizes
- 10 mg
- Storage, dry
- −20 °C, dry and dark
- Storage, mixed
- 2–8 °C, use within 28 days of mixing (as generally reported for reconstituted peptides)
- BAC water per size
- 10 mg: 2 mL
What is Semax?
Semax is a synthetic ACTH(4-10) analogue (heptapeptide), and that classification is where the published work starts. Published work on it is in rat, human and mouse. The name covers the same material written several ways in the literature, including ACTH(4-7)PGP, ACTH(4-10) analogue and Semax peptide. Its sequence is recorded as Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro: ACTH(4-7) plus a C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro. One of the 8 studies listed below is a controlled trial in people. Supplied as lyophilised powder in 10 mg vials and a ready-mixed nasal spray, held in Canadian stock, for laboratory research. It is not a drug, and it is not supplied for use in a person or an animal.
What the research shows
| Study | Model | Dose used | Duration | Finding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gusev EI et al.2018 · Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova · PMID 29798983 | Human, controlled clinical study, ischaemic stroke rehabilitation (n=110) | 6000 mcg/day | Two 10-day courses with a 20-day interval; patients followed for about 5 months | Semax raised plasma BDNF, which stayed high through the study, regardless of when rehabilitation started. Semax and high BDNF were associated with faster improvement and a better final Barthel index score. |
| Gusev EI et al.1997 · Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova · PMID 11517472 | Human, controlled clinical trial, acute hemispheric ischaemic stroke (n=30 Semax, 80 conventional-therapy controls) | 12 mg/day (moderate stroke) and 18 mg/day (severe stroke) were reported as the most effective daily doses | 5- and 10-day courses | Adding Semax to standard intensive therapy had some influence on the rate of recovery of neurological function, particularly motor deficits, assessed with clinical scales, EEG mapping and somatosensory evoked potentials. |
| Lebedeva IS et al.2018 · Bull Exp Biol Med · PMID 30225715 | Human, placebo-controlled resting-state fMRI study in healthy volunteers (n=24: 14 Semax, 10 placebo) | Intranasal 1% Semax (volume not stated in the abstract) | Single administration; scans before and 5 and 20 min after | The Semax group showed a greater volume of the rostral (medial frontal cortex) subcomponent of the default mode network than the placebo group. |
| Ivanikov IO et al.2002 · Bull Exp Biol Med · PMID 12459874 | Human, controlled clinical study, refractory peptic ulcer (n not stated in the abstract) | Intranasal 1% solution, 2–4 drops three times a day, alongside omeprazole, De-Nol and Solcoseryl | 10 days; healing assessed on day 14 | Ulcer healing on day 14 was seen in 89.5% of patients given intranasal Semax versus 30.8% of controls. The authors call for further clinical studies. |
| Gusev EI et al.2005 · Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova · PMID 15792140 | Human, comparative study, cerebrovascular insufficiency (n=187) | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Semax was associated with clinical improvement, stabilisation of disease progress and a reduced risk of stroke and transient ischaemic attack. The authors report a minor percentage of side effects and good tolerability, including in older patients. |
| Filippenkov IB et al.2020 · Genes (Basel) · PMID 32580520 | Rat, transient middle cerebral artery occlusion (tMCAO) model | Not stated in the abstract | Brain tissue analysed 24 h after tMCAO | RNA-Seq found 394 differentially expressed genes with Semax versus saline. Semax suppressed inflammation-related genes and activated neurotransmission-related genes, the reverse of the pattern seen with ischaemia-reperfusion alone. |
| Shadrina M et al.2010 · J Mol Neurosci · PMID 19662538 | Rat (male Wistar), gene expression in hippocampus, frontal cortex and retina | Not stated in the abstract | Tissue sampled from 20 min to 24 h after administration | NGF and BDNF expression moved in different directions by tissue: both fell in the hippocampus and retina at 20 min and rose in the frontal cortex, and retinal BDNF rose significantly by 90 min. |
| Liu R et al.2025 · Br J Pharmacol · PMID 40692165 | Mouse (female C57BL/6), spinal cord injury at T9-T10; PC12 cell neuroinflammation model | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Semax improved functional recovery scores and reduced lysosomal membrane permeabilisation-related pyroptosis and oxidative stress. The authors link the effect to the μ-opioid receptor and the deubiquitinase USP18. |
What these studies don't show: There are controlled trials, though they answer narrow questions. Trial populations are selected, endpoints are often surrogate measures rather than outcomes, and follow-up rarely runs long. Results hold for the setting studied and no further. Testing establishes identity and purity; it is not evidence of an effect.
Every study links to its PubMed record. See all Semax studies in the research library →
Semax price in Canada: 10mg vial
Buy Semax in Canada in a 10mg vial, plus a nasal spray and a starter kit. Prices are in Canadian dollars, you pay by Interac e-Transfer or bank transfer, and orders are shipped from Canadian stock.
| Size | Price | Per mg |
|---|---|---|
| 10 mg | $52.00 | $5.20/mg |
Other formats and kits
Is Semax available in Canada?
No product containing Semax holds a Drug Identification Number in Canada. That means Health Canada has not assessed it for safety, efficacy or quality. Borealis Peptides holds it for in-vitro research; it is not supplied for use in any living subject. How Health Canada treats research peptides →
Side effects reported in studies
Each statement is tied to the study that reported it. Tolerability observations from the cited papers appear below in the authors own terms. Human work of this size does not establish a safety profile. Read more →
Doses used in studies
Semax FAQ
What is Semax?
Semax is a synthetic ACTH(4-10) analogue (heptapeptide), and that classification is where the published work starts. The published work on it is in rat, human and mouse. Borealis Peptides supplies it as lyophilised powder in 10 mg vials and a ready-mixed nasal spray for in-vitro laboratory research. It is not authorized as a medicine and is not for use in any living subject. The studies behind it are listed on this page with the model each used and what the authors reported.
Where can I buy Semax in Canada?
It ships within Canada from stock we hold, in 10 mg vials. Nothing leaves without HPLC confirmation of identity and purity for that batch. Borealis Peptides accepts research orders only, and ships to research and business addresses. Identity and purity are checked per batch, and the paperwork names that batch specifically.
Is Semax legal in Canada?
No product containing Semax holds a Drug Identification Number in Canada. That means Health Canada has not assessed it for safety, efficacy or quality. Borealis Peptides holds it for in-vitro research; it is not supplied for use in any living subject. Health Canada has said that "Research Use Only" labelling does not make a product legal to use in a person, so we treat it as a description of what the material is supplied for rather than a permission. Lawful use in your own setting is yours to establish.
How much Semax should I use?
We do not answer dosing questions. Semax is not supplied for use in a person or an animal, so there is no dose to describe. What this page carries is the amount each cited study used and the model it used it in, reproduced as the authors published it.
What human evidence is there for Semax?
Of the 8 studies cited, one is a controlled trial in people and the rest are animal or cell work. Each row names its model, the amount used and what the authors reported, so the weight of each study can be judged directly rather than through a summary.
How is Semax stored?
Hold sealed vials at −20 °C, dry and dark. After mixing, storage is 2–8 °C. The lyophilised powder tolerates ambient temperature in transit, so it ships without ice and goes into the fridge on arrival. Repeated freeze-thaw cycles and light exposure are the real risks, not the shipping.
Does Semax need bacteriostatic water?
The nasal spray arrives as a finished solution in its own bottle, so nothing is added to it: no bacteriostatic water, no mixing, no transfer. Only the lyophilised vial is supplied dry, and that is the one format bacteriostatic water applies to. It is sold separately.
How is the purity of Semax confirmed?
Every batch is tested by HPLC before it is sold, and the certificate refers to the batch in your vial rather than to the product in general. Keeping that batch number with your records is what makes an observation reproducible later. Certificates are available on request.
How does Semax compare with Selank and DSIP?
These are separate compounds with separate literatures; no ranking is offered here. Selank and DSIP have 8 cited studies and 8 cited studies on their page against 8 here. The useful comparison is between the two study tables and the models behind them.
Why is Semax named in a Health Canada advisory?
Because it was among the peptides seized from sellers offering unauthorized injectable products online. The advisory concerns material sold for people to inject without authorization. Borealis Peptides supplies research material for laboratory use and sells nothing for injection or for any use in a person, which is the line that advisory draws.








